About The National Park

The Brecon Beacons National Park was established in 1957, under the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act of 1949.
It was the tenth area in England and Wales to be given such status.

The two statutory purposes of the National Park Authorities, as defined in the 1995 UK Environment Act, are to: conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the park and to: promote opportunities for the enjoyment and understanding of its special qualities. The act also gives the National Park Authorities a duty to: "seek to foster the economic and social well being" of their local communities "without incurring significant expenditure in doing so"

Situated between south and mid-Wales, in the United Kingdom, the Brecon Beacons National Park contains some of the most spectacular and distinctive upland formations in southern Britain covering an area of 1347 sq km (520 sq miles).
Two thirds of this area is comprised of Old Red Sandstone rocks. They form four distinct blocks of hills which are cut through by major river valleys, such as the Honddu, Grwynne Fechan and Fawr, Usk, Taf Fechan and Fawr, Hepste, Mellte, Nedd, Tawe, Twrch and Sawddee.

In the east of the Park are the Black Mountains, with a high point of 811 metres at Waun Fach. They also form a natural border with Herefordshire, in England.
The Central Beacons dominate the skyline to the south of the town of Brecon and rise to 886 metres at Pen y Fan, the highest point in southern Britain. Further west lies the sandstone massif of Fforest Fawr, comprising a series of hills known as 'Fans', with Fan Fawr being the highest point at 734 metres. Water rushing southwards from this area has formed steep river valleys with spectacular waterfalls.

© copyright 2023 Your Tourism Community :: Design by Yvonne Tsang & Kate Watkiss. Powered by Your Tourism Community